Skip to content

Paris Found

September 16, 2010

When I found this, it was black, rusted, and dirty.

The first thing I ever found was a wrought iron candelabra. It was just sitting there, on the corner of Laguna and Chestnut streets in the Marina District of San Francisco. My husband gingerly walked around it, but I stopped, and despite the rust, despite the grungy edges, I could see this was a thing of beauty. A trouve: a find. And I turned it into a Paris Trouve.

Occasionally, people are horrified by the fact that I find, pick up, and take home discarded items. I usually find them on the ground… you know, someone else’s cast offs. But I love to find junk with good bones, and to give those found objects, a new, Parisienne life. If you love Paris, free stuff, funky art, and weekend DIY projects, welcome to the lost and found: Paris Trouve.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

